Faraday's Law of Induction

Written by Jerry Ratzlaff on . Posted in Electromagnetism

Faraday's Law of Induction (Maxwell's third equation) states:

  • That a changing magnetic field within a loop gives rise to an induced current, which is due to a force or voltage within that circuit.
  • Electric current gives rise to magnetic fields. Magnetic fields around a circuit gives rise to electric current.
  • A magnetic field changing in time (t) gives rise to an E-field circulating around it.
  • A circulating E-field in time gives rise to a magnetic field changing in time.


Faraday's Law of Induction formula

\(\large{ \bigtriangledown x\; E = \frac { \partial B} { \partial t} }\)   


\(\large{ \bigtriangledown x\; }\) = divergence operator

\(\large{ \rho }\)  (Greek symbol rho) = electric charge density

\(\large{ B }\) = magnetic flux density

\(\large{ E }\) = electric field strength

\(\large{ t }\) = time